sitetastic.blogg.se

Manpager
Manpager













manpager

> Add PYDOCPAGER envvar to specify pager for pydoc Title: pydoc should respect MANPAGER over PAGER. Title: Add PYDOCPAGER envvar to specify pager for pydoc -> Add MANPAGER envvar to specify pager for pydocīelopolsky, pitrou, eric.araujo, jsbronder New changeset dea9f9b5582b by doko in branch 'default': I’m guessing you intended something else? Matthias: your change causes pydoc to raise KeyError if I set MANPAGER but not PAGER. Issue #8637: Honor a pager set by the env var MANPAGER (in preference to New changeset 820d21c97d66 by doko in branch 'default': In headers with vimpager ^H is not rendered(?) correctly. > Excuse me if I was unclear: I wasn’t asking for program names but for a definition of “don’t support” or description of problematic behavior. Yet another PY* environment variable doesn't seem warranted in this case.Īgreed with Alexander's simpler logic proposal in msg105153. For man pages there's vimmanpager.Įxcuse me if I was unclear: I wasn’t asking for program names but for a definition of “don’t support” or description of problematic behavior. Nether of these options are needed for pydoc, rs" which makes less skip whitespace lines and passes through > Justin: what exactly is a pager that does not support man pages? Justin: what exactly is a pager that does not support man pages? I think this warrants a python-ideas discussion. There are workarounds, for example using a shell alias like “docpy="PAGER=most pydoc"”. However, I’m reluctant to add another env variable. My man(1) also respects MANPAGER (it’s the one from ), but given the lack of a standard, I agree with you.

manpager

Variable to override PAGER, it should be callled PYDOCPAGER. MANPAGER environment variable, which in turn overrides the PAGERĪs I said before, since pydoc is not man, if we want a pydoc-specific Not really a standard, but man page for man on my OSX laptop says: > Is there a standard documenting MANPAGER somewhere? Is there a standard documenting MANPAGER somewhere? I chose MANPAGER as the command line pydoc utility already clones some of the man functionality, but I'm fine with PYDOCPAGER or anything else that allows me to use pydoc without having to change PAGER first. In any case this is a feature request rather than a bug. I am not sure, pydoc should respect MANPAGER. (yes, I think ignoring empty *PAGER is preferable to an error) Use_pager = os.environ.get('MANPAGER') or os.environ.get('PAGER') The current behavior causes issues when using a PAGER that does not support man pages.Īuthor: Alexander Belopolsky (belopolsky) * Similar to man(1), pydoc should respect the environment variable MANPAGER over PAGER. Add MANPAGER envvar to specify pager for pydocīelopolsky, doko, eric.araujo, jsbronder, martin.panter, pitrou, python-devĬreated on 15:33 by jsbronder, last changed 14:57 by admin.















Manpager